Chakras and Chakra Balancing

The English translation of the Sanskrit word Chakra is “Wheel”. While the human body has many Chakras, seven main Chakras or energy centers are positioned down the midline of the body. Each of these seven Chakras has a specific and individual purpose, and collectively they govern a person’s emotional and physical being.

When chakras are blocked or over-stimulated it results in imbalances that can manifest in the physical or mental body. Chakra balancing can help address any imbalances within the chakra system and aid in healing and recovery; it can also provide understanding and awareness of behaviors, habits or lifestyle changes that may facilitate a state of wellbeing.

Seven Main Chakras

  • chakra1CROWN

    The Crown Chakra is located at the top center of the head and is the connection to our energy source and universe. It governs the brain, cerebellum and skull. Out of balance it can be linked to depression, fear and anxiety.

  • chakra2THIRD EYE

    The Third Eye Chakra is located in the space between the eyebrows. It recognizes and connects us to the metaphysical and governs the face, eyes, nose, sinuses, pituitary gland and cerebellum. Out of balance it can be linked to feelings or fear of rejection and a lack of clarity on the spiritual aspects of life.

  • chakra4THYMUS

    The Thymus Chakra is located in the center of the upper torso, between the collarbones. The thymus is where we convert emotion to expression. It governs the lungs, vocal cords, throat, thyroid (hormones), voice, jaw, neck and the nape of the neck. Out of balance it is linked to lack of expression and inability to express oneself, fears of silence, being judged or rejected, and a lack of creative expression – drawing, writing, dance, drama/theater, playing.

  • chakra3HEART

    The Heart Chakra is located at the center of the chest, its purpose is to allow healing through acceptance, neutralize negativity and encourage the ability to love freely, without self-consciousness. Anatomically, it governs the heart muscle, upper back, rib cage, chest, skin, lower lungs, circulatory system and abdominal cavity. Out of balance it can be linked to an inability to receive, insincere giving and imbalance between the material and spiritual.

  • chakra5SOLAR PLEXUS

    The Solar Plexus is located at the lower half of the rib cage, where the ribs meet the sternum. The central chakra, it is considered our power center and is where our personality and sense of identity is formed. Anatomically it governs the abdomen, lower back, spleen, digestive system, gall bladder and nervous system. Out of balance it can be linked to material needs, power struggles and a lack of trust in the ebb and flow of nature.

  • chakra6HARA

    The Hara Chakra is located about three fingers width below the navel, just above the genital area. The Hara is the center for the digestion of emotions and sexual energy. It governs the reproductive organs, kidneys, bladder, pelvis, sperm and bodily fluids. Out of balance it is linked to the inability to express oneself, emotional problems, sexual problems and the suppression of instinctive needs and desires.

  • chakra7BASE

    The Base Chakra is located between the anus and the genitals, and represents our link to the physical world. The purpose of the Base Chakra is grounding. It governs the intestines, anus and prostate, as well as the solid body – teeth, bones, nails, and limbs. Out of balance it is linked to greed or obsession with material gain, and the inability to trust nature’s ebb and flow.